Blakehurst High School logo

Blakehurst High School

Blakehurst High School

Nihil Sine Labore

Telephone02 9546 3281

Course information

The mathematics curriculum is spread out across 3 stages:

  • Stage 4 (Years 7 and 8)
  • Stage 5 (Years 9 and 10)
  • Stage 6 (Years 11 and 12)

The Australian curriculum has been implemented for Years 7-10. General Mathematics in Years 11 and 12 has fully transitioned to the new course, offering General Mathematics 1 (non-ATAR) in Year 12.

Student programs 

Stage 4 (Years 7 and 8)

Our programs in Year 7 and 8, focus on stage 4 of the syllabus (Australian Curriculum, NSW edition) and include the strands

  • number and algebra
  • measurement and geometry
  • statistics and probability.

Stage 5 (Years 9 and 10)

Our programs in Year 9 and 10 are divided into 3 levels of the stage 5 syllabus. These are:

  1. The 5.3 course (Advanced)
  2. The 5.2 course (Intermediate), and
  3. The 5.1 course (Standard).

Each course follows the Australian Curriculum, (NSW edition) and include the strands

  • number and algebra
  • measurement and geometry
  • statistics and probability.

Stage 6 (Years 11 and 12)

Our programs in Years 11 and 12 contain outcomes of the stage 6 syllabus for different levels studied. Students can choose from General Mathematics, Mathematics or Extension 1 Mathematics in Year 11. 

In Year 12 a General Mathematics student can continue on the ATAR path in General Mathematics 2, or the non-ATAR option General Mathematics 1. This is the students' choice.

In Year 12 a student studying Extension 1 Mathematics can then choose to further their study by being accepted into Extension 2 Mathematics - to do this they need to maintain a 75% average in Extension 1.

General Mathematics

The General Mathematics course changed statewide in 2018 to Standard Mathematics.

It is a common core course in year 11, and then allows the students to choose Standard Mathematics 1 or 2 for their HSC year. Both courses can count towards an ATAR (but Standard 1 is a Category B subject and only one of these can count towards an ATAR). Students will be advised during their preliminary year which HSC course will be best for them.

Year 12 2018 are studying the General Mathematics 2 or 1 courses.

The Standard (or General) courses continue to provide a sound basis for jobs in the workforce or for technical and further education courses. University courses in the areas of business, social sciences and nursing mostly require the study of mathematics. Students are advised to check with tertiary institutes before making subject selections.


The mathematics course provides a foundation for studies in science and commerce. Some universities require mathematics as a prerequisite to tertiary study. Students are strongly advised to check with tertiary institutes before making subject selections and they should choose the level of Mathematics required for their desired course, not the level that will maximise their ATAR.

Strands of the Stage 6 mathematics course include:

  • algebra
  • trigonometry
  • geometry
  • functions
  • probability
  • calculus
  • series and series application.

Extension 1 and Extension 2 Mathematics

These courses are designed for students who require a comprehensive understanding of mathematics at a tertiary level. Tertiary study for example, engineering, physics or computer engineering may require this level of mathematics.

For further information about these courses:

  • Extension 1 - Board of Studies mathematics 2/3 unit Stage 6 syllabus
  • Extension 2 - Board of Studies mathematics 4 unit syllabus.